158 House Members Proxy Voted on Inflation Reduction Act


    158 lawmakers opted to vote through proxy during a period when there was controversy over the possibility, given that the Senate has not yet required its members to cast their votes in person.

    House members are now able to vote through proxy, meaning that a person in the House has the ability to vote for an absent member. This kind of voting began in 2020 due to the onset of the coronavirus.

    However, instead of the ability to vote by proxy in the House closing because the coronavirus epidemic has gotten better across the nation, Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) has repeatedly extended it in the name of the “public health emergency.”

    The Website of the Clerk said:

    In accordance with House Resolution 8, and in the specified time frame set as a covered period by the Speaker the 4th of January, 2021, the Office of the Clerk is providing and verifying certain letters that define, modify, and rescind the authority to vote remotely by proxy. The members designated as proxy voters can only vote for other members after receiving specific instructions with regard to every vote.

    Breitbart News published on Friday prior to the vote that the Clerk of House had 190 member's proxy letters filed at the time of the vote, and on the night prior, there were 175 proxy letters received. The numbers fluctuated throughout the day and night as the members submitted new proxy letters, or filed to end their old ones.

    This may be due in part to the fact that members had an active proxy ballot that was never actually needed but not being active in the event the members decided to stay away from town.

    Furthermore, having an active proxy document does not mean they'll not be able to vote in person. But, the majority in the proxy letters have been submitted to the Clerk over the last few weeks, since members recently began their vacations.

    For example, on Friday of last week, CNN reported that Rep. Brad Wenstrup (R) was at the Capitol along with House Republican Intel Committee members for a news conference around 9:00 am. At noon, he was at Dulles airport and allowed another to vote for him, because he was carrying an active proxy vote letter.

    The 158 members who cast their votes through proxy according to the Clerk's website included:

    1. Amodei
    2. Axne
    3. Babin
    4. Bacon
    5. Baird
    6. Barr
    7. Barragan
    8. Bass
    9. Bentz
    10. Bera
    11. Bonamici
    12. Bost
    13. Brooks
    14. Brownley
    15. Buchanan
    16. Bucshon
    17. Budd
    18. Bush
    19. Calvert
    20. Cardenas
    21. Carter (TX)
    22. Cawthorn
    23. Cherfilus-McCormick
    24. Cicilline
    25. Cohen
    26. Comer
    27. Connolly
    28. Conway
    29. Cooper
    30. Crawford
    31. Crist
    32. Curtis
    33. DeFazio
    34. DeGette
    35. DeLauro
    36. DeSaulnier
    37. DesJarlais
    38. Deutch
    39. Diaz-Balart
    40. Doggett
    41. Doyle, Michael F.
    42. Duncan
    43. Dunn
    44. Escobar
    45. Fallon
    46. Flores
    47. Frankel, Lois
    48. Gaetz
    49. Garbarino
    50. Gibbs
    51. Gomez
    52. Gonzales, Tony
    53. Good
    54. Gooden
    55. Gosar
    56. Gottheimer
    57. Granger
    58. Graves
    59. Green (TN)
    60. Harder (CA)
    61. Harris
    62. Hartzler
    63. Herrell
    64. Herrera Beutler
    65. Huffman
    66. Jackson
    67. Jacobs (NY)
    68. Johnson (GA)
    69. Johnson (SD)
    70. Johnson (TX)
    71. Joyce (PA)
    72. Kahele
    73. Keating
    74. Kelly (IL)
    75. Kilmer
    76. Kim (CA)
    77. Kinzinger
    78. Kirkpatrick
    79. Krishnamoorthi
    80. LaHood
    81. LaMalfa
    82. Lamborn
    83. Langevin
    84. Lawrence
    85. Lawson (FL)
    86. Leger Fernandez
    87. Lesko
    88. Letlow
    89. Levin (MI)
    90. Lieu
    91. Lucas
    92. Luetkemeyer
    93. Mace
    94. Manning
    95. Matsui
    96. McBath
    97. McEachin
    98. McHenry
    99. McNerney
    100. Meijer
    101. Meng
    102. Meuser
    103. Miller (WV)
    104. Miller-Meeks
    105. Moore (UT)
    106. Moore (WI)
    107. Moulton
    108. Napolitano
    109. Nehls
    110. Norman
    111. Ocasio-Cortez
    112. Omar
    113. Owens
    114. Palazzo
    115. Panetta
    116. Payne
    117. Phillips
    118. Pingree
    119. Porter
    120. Pressley
    121. Price (NC)
    122. Rice (SC)
    123. Rodgers (WA)
    124. Rogers (KY)
    125. Roybal-Allard
    126. Rush
    127. Sanchez
    128. Sarbanes
    129. Schakowsky
    130. Sherman
    131. Sires
    132. Smith (NJ)
    133. Smith (WA)
    134. Steel
    135. Steube
    136. Suozzi
    137. Swalwell
    138. Taylor
    139. Thompson (PA)
    140. Thompson (CA)
    141. Timmons
    142. Titus
    143. Tlaib
    144. Tonko
    145. Torres (NY)
    146. Trahan
    147. Trone
    148. Van Drew
    149. Van Duyne
    150. Vargas
    151. Wagner
    152. Walberg
    153. Waltz
    154. Watson Coleman
    155. Welch
    156. Wenstrup
    157. Wilson (FL)
    158. Wilson (SC)

    Breitbart News published on Thursday that the Republican management was whipping their votes in order to make sure that no Republicans would vote in favor of the bill. Breitbart News reported on Friday:

    Because the bill is based on budget reconciliation, Republicans can't stop Democrats from adopting the bill. However, the top House Republican staffer said they intend to make Democrats “own” the bill and stress the negative effects that the law has.

    The law would:

    • Let Medicare to negotiate the cost of prescription drugs
    • Provide an extension of the improved Obamacare benefits to three more years. It could cost $64 billion.
    • Reduce the deficit by $300 billion.
    • The tax rate is increasing as America has just entered an economic recession.
    • Increase funding for the IRS by $80 billion which would make the IRS bigger than the Pentagon, State Department, FBI, and Border Patrol combined.
    • Create billions of dollars of green energy funds that will allow Federal government officials to distribute.
    • The bill includes budget disguises and false offsets that disguise the true price of the bill.

    House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) -who has stated numerous occasions that he'd eliminate proxy voting should the Republicans win back the House in January was also quoted in March as saying that “proxy voting” would better be called “convenience” voting, since members of both parties have utilized the term in this way, other than as a measure to prevent an upcoming health emergency, which is exactly what they say.

    In actuality, Rep. Chip Roy (R-TX) made use of $700 billion of the “Inflation Reduction” Act as an example on Thursday, and said to Breitbart News that it is “absurd” that “lazy” Democrats and Republicans are planning to apply the “bullshit” proxy voting rule on the “garbage” Inflation Reduction Act which doesn't assist in the fight against inflation instead of adhering to the Constitution and voting in person.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here